September 2010

posted 28 Oct 2015, 15:04 by Philip Owen   [ updated 28 Oct 2015, 15:13 ]
10th Anniverasary Celebrations
Thoresby Youth Band are celebrating their 10th Anniversary with a social evening
on Saturday 11th September 2010 at 7:00pm
All ex. band members are welcome
Please email philip.owen@thoresbyband.com if your wish to attend

Thoresby Youth Band are also presenting a 10th Anniversary Concert
on Sunday 12th September 2010 at 7:30pm

A Concert not to be missed with guest soloists:

Michael Dodd - Principle Euphonium of Grimethorpe Colliery Band
Mark Walters - Flugel Horn of the Brighouse & Rastrick Band

Tickets for the concert are still available £6 adults, £5 concessions
from Christine Lippeatt on 01623 822672

Both events are being staged at the Thoresby Welfare Social Club
Big Thanks go to Michael Dodd, Mark Walters and Stan Lippeatt

The Thoresby Colliery Youth Band would sincerely like to thank Michael, Mark and Stan for helping to make their 10th Anniversary weekend special. The weekend concluded with a concert, in their home village of Edwinstowe, in which Michael, Mark and Stan all featured as soloists.


Stan had known both players from their early Grimethorpe days and was delighted to feature with both in a duet, Ein Schnaps (2 Flugels) and The Prayer (Flugel and Euph). However Michael and Mark both had the audience enthralled with their solo playing in Watching the Wheat, Benedictus, Old Kentucky Home, You Needed Me and Misty. The band’s programme had something from everyone, ranging from brass band music, Horizons by Paul Lovatt-Cooper, a selection from the musical Grease, the main theme tune to the film Robin Hood, pop song Ruby and many more favourites.


The concert ended a day in which the band had spent working with Michael in band and master class sessions. There were various techniques demonstrated to the band that can be followed up in the band room, some of which will definitely cause hilarity among the players as they try to achieve the required results.


The weekend started Saturday evening with a party for the current band and any past players. For each of the 10 years there was a display board showing pictures and press articles of the band’s achievements during this time. For some members it was quite nostalgic seeing themselves as raw beginners at the ages of 8-11 years. During the evening the band’s annual awards were presented and this year’s recipients were:

Players Player:                        Matthew Hollingworth

Achievement Award:               Kay Fritchley

Achievement Award:               Luke Hallewell

Dedication & Contribution:     Matthew Hollingworth

Graham Thomas Trophy:        Sharon Owen


Anne Thomas presented the latter award to the band this year in memory of her late husband Graham who was a committee member for the senior band, but a supporter and helper to the organisation as a whole. In fitting with his work for the organisations the award was presented to Sharon, as she has been all of these to the Youth Band from day one. The party then swung into life with a disco.